Pagan Reading Challenge

So… I read a lot. I decided to sign up for a pagan reading challenge as well that way I can review books. Rather, I know I am able to review books any time I want, but this will motivate me to read and review. Also, I often get discouraged by New Age books because I feel like there’s more of the same or poor scholarship, so I’ll be rereading some books I found useful when I was first starting out as well.
My goal for this reading challenge will be High Priestess Read 31-35 Books. First, this isn’t particularly unrealistic for me since I read a lot that’s roughly three books a month.

1. The Witches Book of the Dead (Christian Day): 1/1/12-1/10/12
2. The English Book of Magic (Phillip Carr-Gomm & Richard Heygate) 1/10/12-
3. Travels Through Middle Earth: The Path of a Saxon Pagan (Alaric Albertsson)
4. The Way of Wyrd (Brian Bates)
5. The Master Book of Herbalism (Paul Beyerl)
6. The Black Arts (Richard Cavedish)
7. The Roebuck in the Thicket: An Anthology of the Robert Cochrane Witchcraft Tradition
8. A Grimoire for Modern Cunningfolk (Peter Paddon)
9. Gods of Love and Ecstasy
10. The Witches Bible
11. Witchcraft Medicine
12. Eaarth (Bill McKibben)
13.
14.
15.
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35

About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pagan Reading Challenge

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Eaarth (Bill McKibbens) | Pixiecraft: Adventures of Magick and Devotion

  2. Perhaps I missed them but didn’t see any of Judika Illes works here. She has written 4 encyclopedias plus a number of other books. They’re all fabulous but her Encyclopedia of 5000 Spells is invaluable!

    • Pixie says:

      I do like the Encyclopedia of Spells but I don’t think I’ve read any of her other work. In an attempt to keep with this meme, I didn’t include it because I don’t want to read it cover to cover (not that it would be bad but it’s a big book, I enjoy reading bits and pieces here and there). I might put a review of it up now that you mention it since I am not going to be making my goal for this project anyway!

Leave a Reply

