PBP – Cleansing: A Personal Ritual

This is the second C week for PBP and I’m going to talk about cleansing.  A lot of people have covered cleansing last week and I’m sure there will be more articles this week. So this post is a little more personal than I usually am with PBP posts

Cleansing is an important part of magical life, and my personal mental health. Most people shower daily, and accept that this is an important practice for good hygiene. Most people wash items like clothing before wearing and dishes before using, because that’s just to keep things sanitary. Well, likewise we need to spiritually cleanse our tools, homes, and bodies before rituals, first uses, and sometimes daily.  The purpose of cleansing tools and spaces ritually is to erase other’s etheric threads and energies attached to the things. If you don’t cleanse objects before you work with them, you risk your magic being interrupted by others’ energies left on the tools.  Cleansing our bodies is the same. We need to cleanse our energy as well as the physical body to remove residual energies and etheric cords that we have attached throughout the day. While etheric cords to those we love are not a problem, random connections with people who will drain our energy also happen during daily life.

The most important cleansing ritual I perform is my personal cleansing ritual. I do a short version of this every time I shower. After especially long days or when feeling particularly stressed, I stay a little longer on this meditation. After I have washed my body – with a ritual soap of frankincense and myrrh or whatever non-ritual soap I choose to use (I don’t think it matters) – I close my eyes and focus on my breath.  I stand under the water and focusing on my breath, begin to feel my energy and my body. I focus on any areas of tension, pain, or heaviness for a few minutes – mentally allowing myself to feel my physical body. Next, I focus on my aura and the energy surrounding me: I visualize the aura around me. As I visualize, I focus on cleansing my energy and feeling the negativity, pain, or heaviness slide away and down the drain.  Occasionally, I find it helpful to literally run my hands over my body, feeling my aura and cleaning out any “stuck” energy.  This can take anywhere from a minute to a half hour. When I feel sufficiently cleansed and relaxed, I turn off the shower, and go ahead and dress.

My ritual for ritual baths or any bath after a bad day is pretty much the same. However, in the case of a ritual bath I will often focus on my intent for the ritual and begin building up my energy around the intent in the bath. Sometimes I charge my energy after a cleansing with a general purpose like “to feel beautiful” or “to create happiness.” These baths I would usually also use some sort of bath product – I recommend Lush bath bombs. Basically, ritual baths or any baths, can be used for the same kind of basic cleansing but generally I think of ritual baths for purification more as an extended time for meditation. Basic cleansing rituals to clean our bodies and energies don’t need to be so structured and should be preformed regularly.

About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project, Rituals, Witchcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PBP – Cleansing: A Personal Ritual

  1. Kaif says:

    I’ve only recently adopted the practice of cleansing before ritual, and I feel like it makes all the difference. It really helps me enter that ritual frame of mind. Also, I don’t know why I haven’t thought of using Lush bath bombs before! ❤ Lush!

  2. Awesome! However I would advise against Lush products, they are not as healthy as they want you to think! I used to be an affiliate with them, til I did my research and found out just what is in that stuff… Personally, I started making my own. Then you can control the use of toxins.

Leave a Reply

