Garden Planning 1

So, first I know that I said I was going to make Wednesday book reviews and I tried really hard to finish this book. However, life’s been complicated and I haven’t yet finished that book. I’ll try to post a review of the herbal I’m working on tomorrow.  Instead I’m going to write about garden planning.

I feel a little silly writing this because I’m not a “gardener.”  For a long time, I called my grandpa and asked a million questions every time I went to buy a plant – but usually his answers were less than encouraging. “You can’t grow that here” and “that’ll never do well in a container, not possible” etc. Now, living in a city with a porch or balcony around me I could see with my eyes this CAN be done. I stopped calling grandpa figuring that well, he’s never done what I am going to do so, I should stop barking up the wrong tree.  Sometimes I still ask questions, I just take all answers with a grain of salt.

Last year on my little balcony I grew mints, basil (holy and sweet), coriander, wormwood, sage, various lettuces, chamomile, hens and chicks, geraniums, marigolds (pot), ballon flower (killed it), california poppy (died off due to extraordinary heat), rosemary, parsley, and some ornamentals.
Things that did not grow but I attempted to: chives (no idea why they never came up), nasturtium, and lisianthius.  Granted, the things that grew well came from a nursery as plants – those that didn’t happen were mostly seeded by me. So there’s that, I’ve never been good at seeding things.  Also – for the past three years I’ve tried unsuccessfully to grow morning glories. This is partially I think because of my poor placement without enough sun. The moonflowers seeded and sprouted but never flowered as well.

This year is a little different because I have a yard. Granted, it’s not my yard it’s my parents’ yard… but the ultimate failure of moving back to your parents house has some advantages. I plan to replace the horrible flowers that attract beetles around the pool with herbs and night fragrant plants. Unlike last summer, since I’m stuck here now and it’s spring, this has a higher likelihood of happening. So, aside from jasmine and woodland tobacco I plan to grow:

  • Basil (sweet and holy, to use and eat)
  • Poppies (for pretties and magick… they are my favorite flowers)
  • Sweet Alyssum Lobularia maritima. (For magick and pretties.)
  • Elecampane or Elfwort, Inula helenium.
  • Flax Linum usitatissimum
  • Foxglove
  • Morning glories
  • Moonflower
  • Chamomile Matricaria recutia
  • Jimsonweed Datura stramonium
  • Milkweed (local variety for butterflies)
  • Monkshood Acontium napellus
  • Dittany of Crete
About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized, Wortcunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

