Witchy Wednesday: Horny Goats or my favorite mythological animal

So, first I’m going to say anything I consider a “fairy” doesn’t fall into “mythological animal” because I wouldn’t say fairies are “animals.”  Otherwise obviously, my favorite mythological creature would a Pixie!  Duh!

“Pastoral Symphony” by Disney ex. Fantasia

I’m not a unicorn girl, and pegasus don’t interest me… Satyrs are much more my thing.  In Greek mythology, Satyrs are male forest spirits. Later, they became half-goat, half-man creatures often depicted as a man’s torso and up with a goat’s legs and horns.  They are known for roaming around with Pan and Dionysos.  In the Disney piece, they are the cute pipe-playing creatures.  Like everything else that’s been Disney-fied, they’re cute and quaint and I do like them like that.  One of the things I love most about them is their sense of mischievousness.  They represent the wild – a little dangerous but they are not “evil” they simply don’t want to stop the fun when someone gets hurt.

Satyrs are also sexy.  They’re associated with unbridled, animalistic sexuality and lust – they do after all spend their days chasing forest nymphs.  Silenus, the chief satyr is a minor fertility god.  They love nymphs, sex, and wine.  Baby satyrs are found in art, as in the Disney piece with goat bottoms and nubs on their heads.  Satyrs are also associated with music: specifically pan pipes, cymbals, and drums.  This goes with the party you see.  Satyrs are also shy and cowardly, they are difficult to meet in the wild – especially for men.  As subversive and dangerous as they are they are also sweet, timid creatures.

Centaurs are closely related and often confused for satyrs: they are half-horse, half-man creatures.  A lot of people get centaurs confused with satyrs, but they are different creatures entirely.  Also, there were female centaurs in Greek mythology but there were not female satyrs: these were invented in later ages.

About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Myth, Uncategorized, Witchy Wednesdays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Witchy Wednesday: Horny Goats or my favorite mythological animal

  1. Pan gets every motor I have in those old car a roarin’. Sexay Beast!!

Leave a Reply

