Hail to the Holly King!

Merry Solstice! Happy Litha! Merry Yule for those of you in the southern hemisphere!  Today marks Midsummer here in the Midwest.  The sun is at it’s peak, this is the longest day of the year.  In the Wiccan story of the year, this its he point when the God and Goddess come together and celebrate the fertility of the earth. This is the time of the year when the Oak King dies and is replaced by his twin, the Holly King.  Just as this is the peak of the sun’s powers after this they will begin to wane.  (After all, winter is coming… I am so sorry couldn’t resist.)  This is also the point where summer officially begins.  Traditionally Midsummer is celebrated with bonfires across Europe.  In the past, I’ve loved to have a big bonfire, some barbecue, and wine with friends but this year I will actually be in a car driving north on an adventure.  Everyone celebrate enough for me!

In light of the holy day, I will leave you with a beautiful scene from one of my favorite films of all time.

About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project, Paganism, Sabbats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

