I’m Not Feeding the Trolls… IRL

It’s still painfully hot, and I’m still painfully lazy.  However, I do actually plan to get “on track” with PBP this week since I’m currently pre-writing my Friday post for “P.”  

That being said, I will probably go deeper in politics in my posting.  First, because this is a place where I don’t have to listen to other voices.  I’m not saying I’m opposed to this, but I get a lot of this in my life – and folks, the ignorance out there aint cute.  Second, because I don’t have to interact with people on the internet face to face and like, get to know them, I can voice my political opinions without losing friends and causing gigantic rifts in relationships that I value deeply: as long as we don’t bring up certain subjects.  It’s not like politics are everything or anything, but for me, my politics come out of a deep sense of right-and-wrong, fairness, justice, and compassion.  Those are things I value: compassion, empathy, justice, fairness, civility/civilization, Government.  (Really, if I didn’t value government would I go deep into debt for a graduate and professional degree in government if I did not actually value GOVERNMENT?)  Sure, we can disagree about how those things are defined but basically, if we have to go into disagreeing about those definitions I want some real arguments to support your definitions.  I want you to be prepared, and if you throw religion into that mix, I am NOT going to mince words when it comes down to the who-what-whens-and-wheres of religious history, philosophy, and denominations.  Realize, if you get in a political argument with me, or a religious argument, you are in My speciality now: you have just walked into the place where I live in the same way walking into my house and telling me to get in the kitchen and make you a sandwhich.  No one who knows me, in real life or even the internet, would try that one with good reason: I’d just as happily kick your ass out and probably say some pretty mean, but ultimately true things.  I don’t try to be mean in political or religious debates, in fact I go out of my way to make “I” statements, or simply state facts, present a logical argument supported by real researched theories or state when I have not in fact seen such studies.  I also have no problem evaluating your sources of information for their validity either and if they don’t live up to my standards the that’s the end of it.  Fox News, probably not a valid source of information:  The Show Me Institute, well I don’t like them and it’s probably biased but that’s at least some kind of policy institution.  Religious sources can be equally evaluated: your preacher is not as valid a source as a large organized institution, certain large institutions are more “scientific” and logical than others: and some outright lie about history.  So let’s get the facts straight at least: we can argue all we want about how many angels can balance on a pin point; but facts are facts and where they fit into your version of things are important.  The people I know think I’m a bitch for having these standards, and I think they’re ignorant masses and get pretty jaded about the whole idea of democracy as a result.

Anyway, I don’t want to make a habit of losing friends over politics because here in middle America, I’ll be out of friends fast.  That being said, when I have to argue with you over politics, understand you probably put some serious doubts in my mind about a few things.  Aside from things that probably make me mean like questioning your education and intelligence in general: I have to question your values.  Sometimes the things people say these days are more telling than you’d want to think.  For example, if you’re a member of my white, middle class family and you ever refer to black people as “those people” or the N-word; you are in my opinion, NOT a good person.  We don’t share the same values, and really, if i have to associate with you on a daily basis I just want to ignore this fact for as long as possible.  I guess that’s really it: when I argue with my family about politics I have a hard time believing they are good people, the kind of people I want my children around (if I ever have any), and deep down I can’t shake the feeling I shouldn’t be around them either.  At the end of the day, this is a seriously depressing and almost crushing feeling.  

That being said, when I feel crushed, alone, and frustrated I turn to the Internet where J-Smooth over at Ill Doctrine remind me that if I am not alone out here – and also, politics aren’t everything even if it seems like the Rush Limbaghites are coming to attack like zombies in an apocalypse.  

About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Not Feeding the Trolls… IRL

  1. Pingback: One Nation, and it says Indivisible | Running Naked With Scissors

Leave a Reply

