Even Nature is in Denial

It’s HARD to celebrate or think about Yule when it’s 60 degrees outside (about 15 Celcius).  It’s beautiful, the sun is shining, the breeze is light… I’ll be damned if I’m stuck inside trying to “blog” about something.  I am going for a run.  But, don’t talk me about Yule, because I totally don’t care.  Don’t bring up Xmas either.  Let’s just enjoy this lovely sunshine shall we?  Before it gets super dark by 5pm.
I’m not “in the Xmas spirit” or feeling the season.
I don’t want to put up lights or mess with any trees, shop for gifts (because I only like going to the mall so I can take a walk and it’s beeeeauitful outside so screw it), I’m not baking anything, I am not in the mood for spirits, or heavy meals… In fact, I think I’ll move to the West Coast because honestly I could get used to this.  If it drops below 40 I’ll have to break out my fur coat and tell you I’m freezing.
Do NOT mention snow.

I was reminded while working on Friday that people talk about how “cold” it is at night but people need to remember it’s SUPPOSED to be cold: it’s December.  Fuck that people, I am over winter; let’s skip it this year…  I am really, really not personally ready for it to be the “end of the year.”  Ugh.

In fact, in a lot of ways, I am just plain not ready for the end of a lot of things.  There is a time and place for everything, all things die, I know… but please, just not yet.

About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Even Nature is in Denial

  1. Patchouli Autumn says:

    I could have written this post. I, too, am in the Midwest, and have been squeezing everything I can out of the unseasonably warm weather. This year I became a dedicated bike rider, and it has changed my outlook. I’m dreading the inevitability of sub 40 degree weather. I’ve not thought about my blog because I’ve been outside, holding tight to this snap of 60 degree weather. Usually, I’m all about the holidays, but this year I’m not feeling it.

  2. Pixie says:

    That’s cool, I’m glad I’m not the only one. 🙂 I’ve been biking a lot this year too.

Leave a Reply

