Witchy Wednesday: Apps for Witchcraft

When I’m at a loss for what to post, I turn to canned posts and themes.  So I’ll probably start making a lot of new “themes” in the next few weeks so I can just “write” when the mood hits.  I am not a Hemingway method writer – unless you are talking about the drinking.  Anyway, Witchy Wednesday has been pretty neglected so here goes!

I recently got an iPhone and I’ve played with it for a few months.  It’s pretty cool, have downloaded a ton of different apps and even a few surprising ones.  While there are spell books and everything in the App Store, I have not downloaded any of those so I won’t be reviewing them.  That being said, I have found some apps that change how I practice witchcraft.  In the past, I didn’t pay much attention to astrology: not because I don’t believe in it when it comes to magic and stuff I feel like anything helps, but because it was so hard to do.  Even lunar correspondences I was kind “meh” – in a perfect world I’d do it but my magic is just a part of my life.  These apps though have totally helped me be able to plan rituals in correspondence with astrological signs and lunar phases.  Now, if only I began to check it before taking on shifts so I don’t always take the shifts where mercury is in retrograde, I’d be set.  Does anyone know of a really great astrological calendar app for that?

The two astrological and lunar calendars I recommend are Moon. by CDV Concepts (free) and MoonPhase by RomanDucks Software ($1.99).  While both are good, I found the paid option to be most helpful.  Moon only shows the phases, moonrise and moon set, and will alert you for new and full moons.  MoonPhase however gives you astrological information as well as allows you to look at the entire moon cycle at once (new, full dates, etc.).  Obviously, you get what you pay for but even the Moon app helped me keep track of things.  I didn’t expect having the silly app to change anything but simply being able to check where the moon is at and what is going on has actually helped me be more aware of how the cycle affects my personal life.  Also, considering making it a goal in the next year to actually hold regular new moon and full moon rituals since I’ve never consistently made that a practice.  I bring this up not just to recommend these apps, but also to show how technology changes magical practices.

Mobius’s SkyMap is another really awesome app that is sort of witchy.  This app is more of a random cool thing, but as a witch I appreciate it because it helps me put astrological associations and that kind of thing into perspective.  Plus, if you have kids I think this would be a really awesome teaching tool.  Basically, you point your iPhone or iPad (have not tried it on the phone yet) at the night sky, and the app populates the stars with their names and outlines the constellations.  Now, this was a little more useful this summer when watching for shooting stars but I used it last winter during the conjunctions to make sure I knew for sure I was looking at the right planets.  For me at least, I was kind of nerdy kid who always liked the astronomy sections in school, so it was cool for me to see that yes all these years I was actually picking out Venus and Mars accurately.  If you have children or something, I can see how this would be a really cool way to connect mythology with the world.  Even though I am a single adult, I think it’s pretty awesome.

So those are the apps that are super awesome in my opinion as magical tools. Do you have any technological witchy tools?

About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Magick, Witchcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

