Back to School

The end of August and beginning of September is back to school time.  I think this time of year as a time to put things in order and start off fresh. While there are still at least one and a half season to go until the official new year, it’s a time when I begin evaluating: what works, what doesn’t and what changes need to be made. This may also have to do with the fact that my birthday comes at the end of September. For me, birthdays are a new start in our lives, a time to do new things, mark the changes of the last year, and embark on new lessons. This is also the beginning of what I like to refer to as “witching season.”  Festivals are all over, summer vacations are gone, now we’re left with preparing for winter, dropping temperatures, bonfires, and magick comes back in the build up to Halloween (Samhain) and all the way into the spring there is plenty of time for magick and occult studies.

This year, while I need to work on a few mundane things, I also have decided to do the herbal ally exercise. I have never officially done a herbal ally. Starting in autumn will give me plenty of time to stock up on dried supplies. In addition to the herbal ally exercise where you work closely with one herb throughout the year, I am also starting Susan Weed’s Nourishing Infusions online class.  For right now at least, this course is offered free from her website.  I’ve wanted to take her courses for awhile but really couldn’t justify the cost.  Taking this class now will both give me a good experiment and let me know if I will enjoy taking any of her other online courses in the future. So far, I haven’t made any infusions yet but I have read through much of the material. Everything looks very well researched and I have enjoyed the structure and go at your own pace of the course. I’ll let you know how things taste as I get to that part later on. I intended to take the first infusion today but unfortunately, I couldn’t find a quart sized canning jar not already in use. Before I start this I will need to empty one: which means eating up the last of my quick pickles!

20130826-001202.jpg

About Pixie

I'm just your average 20-something trying to figure it out. I am also a theologian, yogi, witch, pagan, dirty hippie, activist (progressive politics), feminist, knitter, environmentalist, and friend. I've also been accused of being a hipster - I am not sure about that. I am sometimes happy to be Gen Y (go Harry Potter) and most of the time confused (seriously guys... ) by everyone else. My hobbies including knitting (and maybe crochet), quilting, recycling, cooking, writing, reading, and biking. I'm finishing up a masters in public policy and when I worked worked in political nonprofits as an activist.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized, Wortcunning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

